تاريخنا

تأسس مركز محو أمية الكبار في مقاطعة أوزوكي (ALC) في عام 1988 كمهمة للكنيسة اللوثرية في جرافتون. في البداية ، كان أولئك الذين قدموا إلى المركز بحاجة إلى المساعدة في القراءة وملء طلبات العمل وتعلم التحدث باللغة الإنجليزية. في 7 مايو 2013 ، أصبح مركز محو أمية الكبار 501c3 مستقل. تواصل Grace Lutheran دعمها من خلال توفير المساحات المكتبية ، وغرف التدريس ، والمرافق ، وخدمات الهاتف والإنترنت.

أصبح الانضمام إلى منظمة 501c3 مستقلة خطوة مهمة. أدركت ALC أهمية مهارات محو الأمية في مجتمع مقاطعة Ozaukee بأكمله. كان هدفنا هو الحصول على تأثير موسع وأعمق في مقاطعة أوزوكي. تؤثر مهارات القراءة والكتابة المنخفضة على التوظيف ، ومستوى الدخل ، والأبوة والأمومة والصحة. من المرجح أن يكون لدى الوالد الذي لديه مهارات محو الأمية منخفضة طفل لديه درجات ضعيفة ، ومشاكل سلوكية ، وقد ينقطع في النهاية. وفقًا للتحالف الوطني لمحو الأمية ، فإن تحسين مهارات تعليم الكبار الأساسية يمكن أن يوفر 200 مليار دولار في برامج الدعم الحكومية. لذلك ، فإن تحسين مهارات تعليم الكبار الأساسية له تأثير إيجابي علينا جميعًا. إن القوة العاملة الأفضل تعليما تعني زيادة في الكفاءة في مكان العمل ، ودخل أعلى ، والأسر الأكثر استقلالية والأطفال الذين لديهم مستقبل أكثر إشراقا.

 

ركزت فلسفتنا على واحد لواحد. جلسات المعلم والطالب بدلاً من بيئة الفصل الدراسي. المعلمون والطلاب قادرون على تحديد الأهداف الفردية. يخدم ALC متعلمي اللغة الإنجليزية ، والأفراد الذين يستعدون ليصبحوا مواطنين في الولايات المتحدة ، ومرشحي GED ، والذين يحتاجون إلى دعم الكلية والتعليم الأساسي للبالغين.

 

يتم توفير القيادة من قبل المدير التنفيذي بدوام جزئي ومنسق تعليم الكبار بدوام جزئي. المدير التنفيذي مسؤول عن بناء العلاقات الخارجية وجمع الأموال وإبراز المنظمة. منسق التعليم مسؤول عن اختيار المناهج وتوجيه / تدريب المدرسين والاجتماع وتقييم الاحتياجات المستمرة للطلاب.

The Adult Literacy Center of Ozaukee County is an independent 501(c)(3) organization 

715 6th Avenue, Grafton, WI  53024     |      adultliteracycenter@gmail.com     |     262-546-0020

Our History

The Adult Literacy Center of Ozaukee County (ALC) was founded in 1988 as a mission of Grace Lutheran Church, Grafton.  Initially those who came to the center needed assistance in reading, filling out job applications and learning to speak English.  On May 7, 2013 the Adult Literacy Center became an independent 501c3.  Grace Lutheran continues its support by providing office space, tutor rooms, utilities, phone and internet services.  

Becoming an independent 501c3 organization was an important step.  ALC recognized the importance literacy skills has on the entire Ozaukee County community. It was our goal to have an expanded and deeper impact in Ozaukee County.  Low literacy skills impact employability, income level, parenting and health.  A parent with low literacy skills is more likely to have a child who has poor grades, behavioral issues and may eventually drop out.  According to the National Coalition on Literacy improving basic adult education skills could save $200 billion in government support programs. Therefore, improving basic adult education skills has a positive impact on all of us.  A better educated workforce means an increase in workplace efficiency, higher income, families who are more independent and children with a brighter future.  

 

Our philosophy has focused on one to one; tutor and student sessions instead of a classroom environment.  Tutors and students are able to set individualized goals.  ALC serves English Language Learners, individuals preparing to become citizens of the United States, GED candidates, those in need of college support and adult basic education. 

 

Leadership is provided by a part-time Executive Director and part-time Adult Education Coordinator.  The Executive Director is responsible for building external relationships, fundraising and raising visibility of the organization.  The Education Coordinator is responsible for selecting curriculum, tutor orientation/training, meeting with and assessing the ongoing needs of students.    

The Adult Literacy Center of Ozaukee County is an independent 501(c)(3) organization 

715 6th Avenue, Grafton, WI  53024     |      adultliteracycenter@gmail.com     |     262-546-0020