我們的歷史

奧扎基縣成人掃盲中心(ALC)成立於1988年,是格拉夫頓格雷斯路德教會的一項使命。最初,那些來到中心的人需要閱讀,填寫工作申請書和學習英語的幫助。 2013年5月7日,成人掃盲中心成為獨立的501c3。 Grace Lutheran通過提供辦公空間,輔導室,公用事業,電話和互聯網服務繼續提供支持。

成為一個獨立的501c3組織是重要的一步。 ALC認識到掃盲技能對整個Ozaukee縣社區的重要性。我們的目標是在Ozaukee縣擴大影響範圍並擴大影響範圍。低識字能力會影響就業能力,收入水平,育兒和健康。識字能力低的父母更有可能生一個成績差,行為問題並最終輟學的孩子。根據全國掃盲聯盟的說法,提高基本的成人教育技能可以節省2000億美元的政府支持計劃。因此,提高成人基礎教育技能對我們所有人都有積極影響。受過良好教育的勞動力意味著工作場所效率的提高,收入的增加,家庭更加獨立以及孩子的前途光明。

 

我們的哲學是一對一的。輔導和學生課程,而不是教室環境。導師和學生能夠設定個性化的目標。 ALC為英語學習者,準備成為美國公民的個人,GED候選人,需要大學支持和成人基礎教育的人士提供服務。

 

領導由兼職執行主任和兼職成人教育協調員提供。執行董事負責建立外部關係,籌款並提高組織的知名度。教育協調員負責選擇課程,導師指導/培訓,會見並評估學生的持續需求。

Our History

The Adult Literacy Center of Ozaukee County (ALC) was founded in 1988 as a mission of Grace Lutheran Church, Grafton.  Initially those who came to the center needed assistance in reading, filling out job applications and learning to speak English.  On May 7, 2013 the Adult Literacy Center became an independent 501c3.  Grace Lutheran continues its support by providing office space, tutor rooms, utilities, phone and internet services.  

Becoming an independent 501c3 organization was an important step.  ALC recognized the importance literacy skills has on the entire Ozaukee County community. It was our goal to have an expanded and deeper impact in Ozaukee County.  Low literacy skills impact employability, income level, parenting and health.  A parent with low literacy skills is more likely to have a child who has poor grades, behavioral issues and may eventually drop out.  According to the National Coalition on Literacy improving basic adult education skills could save $200 billion in government support programs. Therefore, improving basic adult education skills has a positive impact on all of us.  A better educated workforce means an increase in workplace efficiency, higher income, families who are more independent and children with a brighter future.  

 

Our philosophy has focused on one to one; tutor and student sessions instead of a classroom environment.  Tutors and students are able to set individualized goals.  ALC serves English Language Learners, individuals preparing to become citizens of the United States, GED candidates, those in need of college support and adult basic education. 

 

Leadership is provided by a part-time Executive Director and part-time Adult Education Coordinator.  The Executive Director is responsible for building external relationships, fundraising and raising visibility of the organization.  The Education Coordinator is responsible for selecting curriculum, tutor orientation/training, meeting with and assessing the ongoing needs of students.    

The Adult Literacy Center of Ozaukee County is an independent 501(c)(3) organization 

715 6th Avenue, Grafton, WI  53024     |      adultliteracycenter@gmail.com     |     262-546-0020