تأثير المجتمع

يعاني 29٪ من البالغين في ولاية ويسكونسن و 4٪ من البالغين في مقاطعة أوزاوكي من محو الأمية والحساب الذين يفتقرون إلى مهارات مثل القدرة على استخدام جدول الحافلات أو حساب الإجمالي في نموذج طلب. بالنسبة للأفراد الذين يعانون من محو الأمية ، فإن ALC هو شريان الحياة للحصول على وظيفة مستدامة للأسرة والحفاظ عليها والمشاركة في مجتمعهم. يساعد مدرسونا الطلاب على تطوير:

الاستقلالية الاقتصادية

غالبًا ما يعني انخفاض معرفة القراءة والكتابة العيش في فقر: 7٪ من سكان مقاطعة أوزاوكي يعيشون عند مستوى الفقر أو دونه. تقع 20 ٪ أخرى في فئة تسمى ALICE. هذا الاختصار يعني: Asset Limited ، دخل مقيد ، موظف. على الرغم من أنهم يعملون أجورهم ليست كافية. توفر مهارات القراءة والكتابة والحساب الأفضل للناس فرصة أفضل للتوظيف والترقية وكسب دخل أعلى.

الصحة والحياة الأسرية

من المرجح أن يكون لدى الوالد الذي لديه مهارات محو الأمية منخفضة طفل لديه درجات ضعيفة ، ومشاكل سلوكية ، وقد يترك في نهاية المطاف. الأطفال من العائلات ذات مستويات التعليم المنخفضة هم أكثر عرضة بعشر مرات لمهارات القراءة والكتابة من أقرانهم من العائلات الأكثر تعليما. وقد أظهرت الدراسات أن مستوى الأمية لدى الأم له تأثير مباشر على النجاح التعليمي لأطفالها. بالإضافة إلى ذلك ، يتيح محو الأمية المرتفع لأحد الوالدين الدفاع عن أطفالهم مع معلمهم أو طبيبهم أو في مواقف عملية أخرى.

النمو الاقتصادي والتنمية

تحسين مهارات القراءة والكتابة لدى القوى العاملة له تأثير إيجابي على الشركات في مقاطعة أوزوكي. سيساعد الموظفون الذين لديهم مهارات أقوى في القراءة والكتابة والحساب الأعمال على أن تصبح أكثر كفاءة وفعالية. الاستثمار في محو الأمية يوفر أيضًا أموال المجتمع. وفقًا للتحالف الوطني لمحو الأمية ، فإن تحسين مهارات تعليم الكبار الأساسية يمكن أن يوفر 200 مليار دولار في برامج الدعم الحكومية. لذلك ، فإن تحسين مهارات تعليم الكبار الأساسية له تأثير إيجابي علينا جميعًا. تعني القوة العاملة الأفضل تعليما زيادة في الكفاءة في مكان العمل ، ودخل أعلى ، والأسر الأكثر استقلالية والأطفال ذوي مستقبل أكثر إشراقا. يدعم تعليم محو أمية الكبار العائلات ويبني مجتمعات أكثر استقرارًا.

اتصالات المجتمع

تعزز اللغة المشتركة المزيد من الفرص الأكثر حرية للتفاعل الاجتماعي والتبادل الثقافي ، بالإضافة إلى تعزيز المشاركة المجتمعية والفهم الأفضل بين أفراد المجتمع. اليوم ، 7 ٪ من سكان مقاطعة Ozaukee يتحدثون لغة أخرى غير الإنجليزية في المنزل.

The Adult Literacy Center of Ozaukee County is an independent 501(c)(3) organization 

715 6th Avenue, Grafton, WI  53024     |      adultliteracycenter@gmail.com     |     262-546-0020

IMPROVING ADULT LITERACY SKILLS

29%  of adults in Wisconsin and 4% of adults in Ozaukee County struggle with literacy and numeracy lacking such skills as the ability to use a bus schedule or to calculate the total on an order form. For individuals struggling with literacy, the ALC is a lifeline for obtaining and keeping family sustaining employment and engaging with their community. Our tutors assists students to develop:

ECONOMIC INDEPENDENCE 

Low literacy often means living in poverty: 7% of Ozaukee County residents live at or below the poverty level.  Another 20% fall into a category called ALICE.  This acronym means:  Asset Limited, Income Constrained, Employed.  Although they are working their wages are not sufficient.  Better literacy and numeracy skills offer people a better chance at getting hired, promoted, and earning a higher income. 

HEALTHY FAMILY LIFE 

A parent with low literacy skills is more likely to have a child who has poor grades, behavioral issues, and whom may eventually drop out.  Children from families with low levels of education are ten times more likely to have low literacy skills than their peers from more highly educated families. Studies have shown that a mother’s literacy level has a direct impact on the educational success of her children.  In addition higher literacy allows a parent to advocate for their child with their teacher, doctor or in other practical situations.

ECONOMIC GROWTH AND DEVELOPMENT

Improving the literacy skills of the workforce has a positive impact on businesses in Ozaukee County.  Employees with stronger literacy and numeracy skills will help a business become more efficient and effective.  Investing in literacy also saves the community money.    According to the National Coalition on Literacy (https://national-coalition-literacy.org/) improving basic adult education skills could save $200 billion in government support programs. Therefore, improving basic adult education skills has a positive impact on all of us.  A better educated workforce means an increase in workplace efficiency, higher income, families who are more independent and children with a brighter future.  Adult Literacy Education supports families and builds more stable communities.

COMMUNITY CONNECTIONS

A shared language promotes freer and more opportunities for social interaction and cultural exchanges, as well as promotes community engagement and better understanding among community members.  Today, 7% of Ozaukee County residents speak a language other than English at home.

Contact Us

If you are interested in learning more about adult literacy and the services offered by the ALC of Ozaukee County, please send us an email below or call us at 262-546-0020

When I started classes with my tutor, I couldn’t go to the store to do my own shopping . . . Now I don’t have these problems. Also, I have had many medical appointments without a translator.

Thank you so much.

30 years ago you

helped my wife from Korea

with her reading skills. 

Thank you.

The Adult Literacy Center of Ozaukee County is an independent 501(c)(3) organization 

715 6th Avenue, Grafton, WI  53024     |      adultliteracycenter@gmail.com     |     262-546-0020